
TO REPORT THE UNAUTHORIZED
TAKING OR SALE OF WATER,

PLEASE CONTACT:

FOR MORE INFORMATION

The Department of Water Resources

(701) 328.2754

Email: appropinfo@nd.gov

www.dwr.nd.gov
/reg_approp/waterpermits/

The Department of Water Resources is the 
regulatory authority for water use and water 

permitting in the State of North Dakota.

WATER THEFT &
UNAUTHORIZED 

WATER SALES FOR 
INDUSTRIAL USES IN 

NORTH DAKOTA
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THE TAKING OR SELLING OF 
WATER FOR INDUSTRIAL USE 

WITHOUT A PERMIT IS
ILLEGAL IN NORTH DAKOTA.[ ]

FINES & PENALTIES
Associated with Water Theft & Unauthorized

Water Sales For Industrial Uses In North Dakota

CRIMINAL PENALTY
Class A misdemeanor

CIVIL PENALTY
Fine of up to

$25,000 per day

This can apply to individuals,
communities, or businesses.

http://www.dwr.nd.gov/reg_approp/waterpermits/
http://www.dwr.nd.gov/reg_approp/waterpermits/


INCREASING
NEED FOR WATER

The increasing need for water to serve 
industry has also increased the temptation to 
take or sell water from locations where it is 
readily available. However, the taking or selling 
of water for industrial use without a permit is 
illegal in North Dakota.

There are joint criminal and civil penalties 
that can be applied in instances involving the 
unauthorized use or sale of water. The criminal 
penalty is a Class A misdemeanor, and the 
civil penalty is a fine of up $25,000 per day. 
This can apply to individuals, communities, or 
businesses.

The following frequently asked questions 
address a number of common issues 
associated with the unauthorized use, taking, 
or sale of water for industrial purposes:

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

When is a permit required to use water in North Dakota?

A permit is required for all uses of water, except in cases when both the amount of water to be impounded, diverted, 
or withdrawn is less than 12.5 acre-feet, and the contemplated use is domestic, livestock, or fish, wildlife, and other 
recreational uses.

If a landowner catches someone filling a water truck from a pond on their property without permission, what 
recourse do they have?

Not only are those individuals trespassing, but it is also illegal for them to take water from a pond (or any other 
source) without a permit. There are joint criminal and civil penalties that can be applied in instances involving the 
unauthorized use of water.

If a company offers to pay an individual, community, or business for water, can the water be sold?

A permit must be granted by the Department of Water Resources before any water can be used or sold for industrial 
purposes. The permit will specify the source of water and how much can be pumped each year.

If water is sold for industrial purposes without a water permit, what can happen?

There are joint criminal and civil penalties that can be applied in instances involving the unauthorized use or sale of 
water. The criminal penalty is a Class A misdemeanor and the civil penalty is a fine of up to $25,000 per day.

If more water is sold than is authorized in a permit, what can happen?

The amount of water sold or used beyond the allocated annual amount is subtracted from the amount available the 
following year, and a fine is levied based on the amount of overuse. In addition, offenders may have their permit 
revoked.

If I see an illegal taking or selling of water, who should I contact?

If you see, or are made aware of the unauthorized taking or sale of water, please contact North Dakota’s Department 
of Water Resources at (701) 328-2754. Be as descriptive as possible - including who, when, about how much, and where 
the potential offense took place. If the unauthorized use or taking of water involves trespassing, please contact local 
law enforcement.


